Home » Critique » Ok. I’m mad.

Ok. I’m mad.

You can mess with the city, and get away with it. You can mess with the schools, and get away with it. You can mess with political parties in general, and get away with it. But don’t you fuckin’ dare mess with politically active children, ’cause you’re messing with me, mate.

During the last dictatorship here, more than 30.000 people DISAPPEARED. They weren’t just killed on the spot, they were taken away by the military government, never to be seen again. They were sent to detention camps were they were tortured in every inhuman way possible. They killed people in cold blood. If a pregnant woman ended up there, they waited for her to give birth, and take her kid away. Those babies ended up being taken away from their real identities, being raised by their parents’ murderers.

Along the many people kidnapped, abducted, by the factic state, were teenagers. LOTS of teenagers. Underaged brilliant kids, taken away and killed cruelly only because they fought for what they believed was right; only because they were part of their school’s students’ center; and then their phone-books were revised, and their friends were taken away as well, only for being their friends. Every 16th of September here, it’s a day of sadness and memory, as it’s the anniversary of  ‘La noche de los lápices’ (The pencils’ night), when many students, most of them MY AGE, from La Plata city, were taken by the military, most of them never to be seen again.
Many of these ‘subversive’ kids were spotted by making the directors of their school make lists of ‘rebellious’ student, so the military could know where to look.

These were rotten methods for rotten ends, and speak of the cruelty, inhumanity, darkness of those shameful years for Argentina.

Lately, though, Mauricio Macri, Buenos Aires city’s governor, and his Education Minister, Bullrich, have been applying similar policies to the ones I described up there, to ‘keep an eye on politically active students’.

If you read My Political Reality (II), then you must already know I take an important part in my school’s students’ center, and was even the President of it for a complete year. And, if you read this blog, then you might’ve already guessed that politics take a very important part in my life, and that I have strong opinions on this matter.
Not only this, but I know every single person in the students’ center, and even the new president, a bright but tiny boy from third year, is a very good friend of mine (or more like my protected).

So try to imagine my fucking RAGE, at the beginning of last year, when Macri asked for every public school’s director to hand in lists of students that are politically involved in their respective schools.
I kid you not.

Of course, this was all a part of his ‘children-are-just-children-and-don’t-know-what-they-want-so-let’s-protect-them’ policy. But you can clearly see some resemblance with his idols, the leaders of the last dictatorship.

But this wouldn’t stop there, oh no, oh no.

He REFUSED to let us in and talk about the city’s public schools’ problems, most of them caused by him, alleging that we were all in agreement with the National Government (who he hates), and thus, making us, secondary school students fighting for our rights, his political enemies.

BUT OH WELL. We can live with that. We just went on with the organizations, reunions, reclaims, etc., ignoring his paranoia, and claiming for his attention.

Is it? Is it all well?

Well, not NOW.

He crossed THE FUCKING LINE.

I don’t even understand what the fuck is going on in his little head. AND NO, I have no political nor intellectual respect whatsoever for this guy, as he really DOES NOT deserve it. The moment he starts behaving like the city’s governor, and drops the ‘rich-cool-dude’ attitude, then I might reffer to him respectfully.

So, what’s this line I’m talking about?

Oh, well, basically, HE SET UP A FUCKING RAT PHONELINE.

The name? “0800-INTROMISION” (MEDDLING). ‘For students, teachers, and parents to call, and denounce political meddling in schools’. I’m not making this up, I swear.

THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. THIS IS POLITICAL PERSECUTION TOWARDS TEENS AND KIDS!

School isn’t a political-free environment. There’s NO FUCKING WAY it can be so. Why? BECAUSE IT’S A PUBLIC FUCKING SPACE.
Politics, discussion about them, debates, information, etc., is one of the best parts of going to a public school here! It’s the perfect exercise of reasonal and critical thinking, it teaches us tolerance towards those who think differently from us, and it teaches us to be responsible and informed citizens in the near future.

But, of course, that’s not convenient for the kind of interests this dude represents: the interests of big, multi-millionaire empresses who find it convenient to have stupid, ignorant, uninformed, and therefore malleable populations for them to manipulate and use to their ass’ wishes.
HE himself is a fucking millionaire, owner of SEVERAL multi-national empresses, and the son of one of Latin-American’s richest man. It’s not a surprise he thinks like this!

The surprise is, that people actually voted for him. People actually thought he was good for the city, and voted for him. Not once, but TWICE. Two fucking times! Why?
Well, he didn’t do anything right. And I mean it, he did NOTHING right. But, he IS a strong opposition to the National Government of Cristina Fernandez, whom middle-class and upper-class from Buenos Aires seem to hate (even though they’ve never been better than with her economic policies), and they convinced the poor people from here, who are a vast majority, that Macri is good for them too. How?
THEY OWN THE FUCKING MEDIA.
Just google ‘Grupo Clarín’, and you’ll find out. The most important TV channels, ratio channels, magazines, newspapers, etc., are managed by the same group of people, people who only think of their own well-being; people who got a hold of these properties by making illegal deals with the last dictatorship’s bosses, while they celebrated the coup d’état, and flat-out LIED to the people -both then, and now.

That’s how you get a guy who thinks youth politic is ‘dangerous’ for society, to be Buenos Aires’ governor.

So yeah, I just wanted to write all this down, cause this pisses me off like no other thing in the world.

Si sos de Buenos Aires, y votaste a Macri, entonces tengo sólo una cosa que decirte: sos un hijo de remil puta, y te merecés los sucesivos aumentos del ABL, los paros del Subte, y el que la ciudad se te venga abajo por este inútil.
Felicidades, has sido engañado por los poderosos de siempre. Otra vez.

Sorry about the ranting, but this just… ARRGHHH.

-Mila.

24 thoughts on “Ok. I’m mad.

  1. Our individual freedom is the first thing that all tyrants want to take-in steps. First, its control of speech, with social pressure and then with actual force. They always promise security and fairness, while denying both as they gain control. Then they go for your livelihood to terrify you into giving up your position and opinions. Tyrants take many forms and hold various political positions. If we fight their actions before they can gain a foothold in power, in the early stages, we can prevent the tyranny from taking hold over the government. Vigilance is key but its never easy.

    • You are right, and that’s why we should always revise our past to look for hints for us to identify these people earlier.
      The thing is, in my country, and this city, we already went through this kind of situations. But when you get the corrupt media on your side, then you’re sure to get votes for blabbing about security, or hanging out with idols.
      People don’t seem to learn over here.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Mila, this is a horrible thing, I had no idea so many people were killed. This guy sounds like an evil man. Do you have any other articles here about the pior dictatership. I know nothing of this, neither did I see it on the news. If not, are you able to write a short synopsis of the last dictatorship? Strange I never saw such things on the news…odd.

    Sorry you and your peers have to go through such things. People deserve freedom. We have people in the military that have to fight for our freedom every day.

    That is wrong in so many ways, to target schools and teens in such a manner. Wrong, Wrong, Wrong…Now, I am getting mad too.

    Wonderful article.

    • Well, I was actually thinking of writting something like that some time ago, but I want to have more sources. This particular article was completely subjectives and my own opinions, as you can tell. But if I’m gonna write about such an important piece of history for my country, I want it to be more informative than this.
      That said, yes, it is VERY WRONG. I might also sit down to write an article comparing the current president’s and BA’s governor management, and see how it goes.
      There aren’t many voices with my point of view on this subject in the blogosphere; I came to realise that not too long ago.
      Anyways, thanks for reading and commenting!

      • Let me explain Mila, your situation is differnt…as you have to be a journalist. You have to be your own source as your sources are limited. Suggestion: Do you own journalism and write as such; in your case sources are limited as there are none.

        :)

  3. As an outsider who briefly lived in Argentina who remains passionate about the country, it’s nice to hear someone’s point of view in English who doesn’t try to portray Fernandez-Kirchner as the devil. (often glorifying Macri just because he’s the opposition)

    Nothing scares me more than the thought of Macri as the next President of Argentina. The current CFK government has been good and bad, but not the disaster that Macri’s term as mayor has been for Buenos Aires. The BA elite will do whatever it takes to get him to the presidency, especially as CFK has picked up her radical rhetoric. And here in North America all we hear about how the Kirchners are undemocratic, no word about what Macri has done (just as they ignored all of Menem’s abuses).

    • Well, you sir, are one in a million.
      Yes, we share the same fears. I can’t think of Argentina growing in both economy and rights the way it did the last years with someone like Macri leading it -wich means, with powerfull people leading it, after all.
      CFK’s government isn’t all-perfect, but it’s the best we’ve had in a long, LONG while; though people try to deny it by any means possible -and impossible.

      Undemocratic is the one thing you can’t label Kirchner as. If you lived here, then I guess you know that there has never been this range on opinions put up for the public like in these times. The freedom everyone has is actually protrayed in the fact that people can go ahead and say whatever bullshit they want about the government.

      All I hope, is for the people to wake up; to look away from the temptations the elite puts before them, and be able to see beyond the lies.

      Then, I’ll be able to say we’ve learnt from our mistakes.

      Well, thanks for reading and commenting!

      • I was last in Argentina a year ago just before the presidential election, the time before that was during the Soy protests… anyone who claims it’s not a democracy insults those who lived through the 70s.

        There’s flaws, and I have no doubt the Kirchners don’t always play clean themselves, but sadly, in Latin America if you always play by the rules and threaten a sector of the elite, you won’t last very long. Group Clarín and their monopoly isn’t democracy to me either.

        Things can still get better, it’s not only the Macris and Duhaldes against the government (If anything Binner and Pino Solanas are more genuine opponents of neoliberalism), but it’s nice to see an independent Argentina that promotes human rights and equality. I read that the government is introducing a writers pension to help out aging artists and promote literature, little things like that are nice to see while North America and Europe are trying to cut all social spending to protect corporate profits first.

        Here in North America they want nothing more than to see Argentina fail, every year there’s been wishful predictions by journalists that the economic crash is going to happen again, to punish Argentina for not being more like Chile, Colombia and Mexico. Of course these are the same people who thought Menem’s Argentina was an economic model the whole region should follow, despite continuing the gutting of local industry (to make Argentina less independent) and growth of inequality that started under the dictatorship.

        Anyway I look forward to continuing to read your blog, keep up the good work. I wanted to see what else you had after reading your piece on Avenida Scalabrini Ortiz (A street I’m very familiar with, but I didn’t know that it was named after George Canning for so long) on the Mexfiles, and your point of view is very interesting.

      • I see you’re very familiar with the country’s whereabouts, which is pretty awesome of you.
        I agree with everything you just wrote; and yes, these people claiming that there is no democracy nowadays are insulting the 70’s victims -and, in many cases, were acomplices to what happened to them.

        Well, I will keep on writting about what I hear and see here, as soon as I get a good idea again.

        Thanks for reading and commenting, and I hope you get to visit the country again soon! (I just love it here).

  4. Welcome to journalism….:) Sometimes governments limit the truth, as such the pubic has to be the news….Many bloggers here that are journalist in countries that do not have “news” that is not biased. Suggest finding them, as they will be listed on the reader in countries that suppress writing, I would look up the countries that have zero freedom of speech, comment on their blogs, and start a blogging relationship.

    Then, I would add them to the blogroll – this starts the journalism relationship and blogging relationship. These will be your top commenters on every post.

    Suggestion, not bossing.

    Perhaps a website name that is new, that suggest you are reporting? So, readers know that you are the source and the journalist. I have seen this on many blogs, I think from North Korea and China. They report their own stories, as there is no news, writing or anything of the true stories – freedoms are limited.

    Welcome to true journalism Mila.

    :)

    • Woah… I always wanted to be a journalist, but I never thought of BlockUsado in that way. Maybe it’s not a bad idea, after all.

      Here, the problem isn’t nor the lack of information, nor the government -the thing is, the people who manage the media are the owners of almost everything, and don’t suscribe to any kind of ethic to make people think whatever they want them to. THAT is how they got the masses to celebrate the last dictatorship at it’s time, that is how they got them to vote for idiots (again, not deserving my political repesct) like Menem or De La Rúa, and that’s how the got some people to be convinced they ‘hate’ Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner.
      So, it’s not the government, it’s the elite, the powerfull. This is something that occurs in most of South America, and has been specially visible lately, as the people that are now in the government of these countries aren’t what’s convenient to these rich bastards.

      Even though I think your idea is great, I really wouldn’t know where to start. How do I look for these blogs? I’d appreciate some kind of advice regarding that -I’m still inexperienced here.

      As always, thanks for you advices! It’s very thoughtful of you, and it helps me a lot!

  5. Guess I was trying to explain that would be my process, if in your writing position. That is how I would build a large readership and commenters, and would write as a professional journalist. That’s me though…I am wierd and a nerd among other things. LoL

    • Hey. I’m an Argentinian teen writting about history and politics… In english. What’s not nerdy about me!?
      Haha, but I’d really like to accomplish that at some point.

      • Here is one…well kind of… i would do a search for North Korea, or countries that do not allow women to write. China has many blogging journalists I have met online. They tell the true news of the country. Here is sort of an example of what it could appear as: Love this blogers theme and set up:

        http://christinaassi.wordpress.com/

      • Yup, they were on spam.
        Well, thanks! From here, I think I can keep on expanding, looking for people with similar topics, or the like.

        Oh, and I’m still trying to figure out what’d be the best way to make the Blogroll, as I’ve stumbled upong many interesting blogs that I think deserve more traffic. I just need to figure out the way I’ll organise and present them.

        Again, THANK YOU!

      • Did my comment with the link go into your spam…probably did, it was this cool website that is sort of a journalist. Loved her theme, think she was from oh, I forget. If a comment has a link, it often goes into spam…

      • My comment with link just went into spam :) Check out her site, it is cool. Love her theme. :) Your theme would have to be journallistic though…look like a true news reporter. :)

        L – giver of unwanted advice, nerd, geek and bored.

        LoL

  6. Mila – as I have already commented on this topic, there will be a raise in traffic to my site over the next week for reasons, I cannot say…Please be sure to check your site daily and respond to comments, as you are on my blogroll…

    Liz :)

    • Oh, is it a surprise? I love surprises!
      I’m keeping up with comments, but have been having problems to write lately. I need to seat down this weekend and write something!

  7. Hello, Mila…How are you? I see that you made nurusculinary’s “posts I like” on front page. Koodos to you (he is on my blogroll).

    No more unwanted advice, just wanted to say hello, and give you a smile.
    :)

    • I did? Oh, I did! o.o
      Well, thanks ^^. I’m still having troubles with finishing posts to upload, though :/. I feel like Im letting you all down.
      Might post something lighter today, I dont know.
      Anyways, thanks for passing by ^-^.

      • Yes, it’s been some really crazy weeks, and sitting down to write posts has been the last thought on my mind for a while. But now things are calming down, so I’ll start posting more often. Im sorry I worried you ^^”.

      • I can understand that, think most people are on summer blogging hours right now, people here in the United States blog way more in the winter time, well in the Northern States.

        Glad you are back!

Comment~

