Home » Thoughts » Argentina’s Political Reality (I)

Argentina’s Political Reality (I)

I think this is something interesting and important enough for me to make an effort and write yet something else in english -this might become an habit if I keep at it…

So, when you guys hear the word ‘politics’, what comes to your mind? I’m sure your definition will vary a lot, depending on where you were born and raised, and that includes your family, friends, etc. The variation I’m more interested in is, however, the location. Specifically, everyone’s country.
Why? Well, for starters, your view on politics will be at first defined by the politic system your country has. It’s not the same to live in a country with only a president, as to live somewhere with a prime minister and a queen, or somewhere where every desition is taken by a group of people, or where the person in the power hasn’t changed for decades (note: I’m not trying to say any of these are right or wrong). Do the people in your country vote for their representatives? How long does it last? Do you have a strong religious influence? All this will make a difference when you try to talk about politics.

Personally, I’m from Argentina. You know, that country at the end of the world? We’re far from everything, suffered from every kind of dependance towards the powerfull nations, been through mounstrous dictatorships, and yet we try oh so hard to deny all this. Actually, no, that’s kind of wrong. People, powerfull people, have been trying to fill a pre-made view of the world in our heads. The nice thing is, we’re starting to realise all this.

Political expression here in Argentina is a very controversial topic. You could say we have two well-defined sides to it: 1) those who probably have a political history in their family, or were suddenly interested by it, or introduced to it’s amazing world by someone, and now is either an active member of one of here’s many parties, or either someone who likes to maintain himself up to the news, and with a critic sense regarding it all, and 2) those who are uninterested, maybe because they don’t know much about it, maybe because they’re part of those people who were uncharmed by politics after 2001’s crisis, or by other similar event. As you can guess, there are many more variables to this, but that’s pretty much how it goes.
But, it’s not like you can just stay completely out of it all if you live here. Because of many of this country’s characteristics, being maybe that voting is an obligation, being maybe it’s history, in Argentina you’re bound to ‘know’ at least a little something about the nation’s political news. Specially recently.

You must be pretty confused after that part about the year 2001’s crisis. I mean, what could it have to do with militance in political parties? Well, I really don’t want to explain it all (and honestly, you can read about it if you’re interested -we’re pretty well-known for what happened), but the events that year lead to us, the people, making the president himself quit -he took off the presidential house in an helicopter in order not to be attacked-, and then to two weeks when we had around 5 different presidents, each lasting a few days in the power before resigning as well… Yup, those were pretty messy months.
So, after something like that, you can probably guess how we felt about politicians, huh…? Yeah.

A decade has gone by since those turbulent times, and now, believe it or not, there’s more political activity that in the last 4 decades or so. Specially with young people, like myself.

Why is this?

Right after all that fiasco, new elections were held to try and regain some normality. After some blablablah (I mean it. Read about it), doctor Nestor Kirchner was elected.
Noone really expected much from him after what we had just been through, honestly. Most thought he’d only last a few months before the same thing happened. But, believe it or not, Kirchner made something noone else would have even dared to. He’s the milestone, marking a before and after in our history, wether you agree with him, or not.

Now, I wont go into details of what he did, and what he didn’t do (I mean, this post is already long as it is) -just, take my word when I say: it was new, and that was awesome.

Ever since his influence started, that flame that lives in every argentinian came to life again, to either agree or disagree with him. It doesn’t really matter, as long as you can open your eyes to reality. That critical sense that had been dormant in out minds for so many years thanks to those who found that convenient, awoke again, to make my country and place of debate and freedom of expression, like I like it.

Now then, this affected both adults… And young people. And that’s where this whole post’s topic actually lies.

But I think I’ve extended myself for too long already -wich basically means, I’m too lazy to go on right now. So I’ll make this the introduction, part 1!

Tomorrow I’ll -probably- upload the next part, where I’ll talk about what I actually intended to… Sorry about that ^^.

Thanks for reading!

-Mila.

9 thoughts on “Argentina’s Political Reality (I)

  1. Pingback: My Political Reality (II) « Block Usado

  2. Pingback: Think twice! « Block Usado

  3. I realize that Argentina has gone through very serious times, but its people are strong and intelligent and will find their way to success. They need to find honest and realistic choices that may not be popular.
    I enjoyed your blog.

    • By now, we’re already starting to enjoy the light at the end of the tunnel. Of course, there’s still much work to do, but I do believe we have the tools to craft our own future from now on -one that represents our own well-being, without giving our back to the rest of the world.
      Thanks for your time to read and comment!

Comment~

